Press "Enter" to skip to content

School Zone Traffic Cameras, Beacon Lights Deactivated for the Summer

NEW ORLEANS — The City of New Orleans Department of Public Works today announced that all school zone traffic cameras and beacon lights have been deactivated for the summer.

School zone cameras were turned off Tuesday, May 31. School zone cameras and beacon lights will be reactivated when the majority of schools resume in August.

About the Department of Public Works

The Department of Public Works is composed of five divisions responsible for maintaining approximately 1,547 miles of streets (21 million square yards of pavement) and 149 bridges in the City of New Orleans. This system includes more than 72,000 catch basins and approximately 8.2 million linear feet of drainage lines. The Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development is responsible for maintaining an additional 105 miles of state and federal highways within the City limits.


Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.