Press "Enter" to skip to content

City of New Orleans to Reactivate School Zone, Traffic Safety Cameras Beginning August 1st

NEW ORLEANS — The City of New Orleans today announced that school zone traffic safety cameras, which have been off while schools are out of session for the summer, will be reactivated Tuesday, Aug. 1, at 7 a.m. The City will also be reactivating 10 traffic safety cameras that were damaged during Hurricane Ida and have now been repaired. These repairs included replacing sensors and installing new poles and other support equipment.

Driving is the most dangerous activity that New Orleanians engage in every day. The Traffic Camera Safety Program is a critical component of the City’s efforts to reduce speeding and improve safety on our streets, especially for our children.

School zone hours are 7 a.m. until 9 a.m., and 2:45 p.m. until 4:45 p.m., Monday through Friday. Motorists are advised to carefully observe posted speed limits and exercise caution in school zones, including no cell phone use and stopping for children crossing the street. Drivers can expect to see enforcement of 20 mph school zone speed limits.

The 10 traffic safety cameras which are being reactivated are located at:

  • North Carrollton Avenue @ Canal Street
  • Canal Street @ South Carrollton Avenue
  • South Carrollton Avenue @ Palmetto Street
  • South Carrollton Avenue @ Earhart Boulevard
  • Earhart Boulevard @ South Carrollton Avenue
  • Earhart Boulevard @ South Carrollton Avenue
  • Poydras Street @ Loyola Avenue
  • Poydras Street @ St. Charles Avenue
  • Poydras Street @ Carondelet Street
  • South Carrollton Avenue @ Banks Street

A map of all traffic camera safety locations can be found here.


Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.